Zappa Family Trust to Release 60 Zappa Recordings


Back home where it belongs, the music of Frank Zappa is now back in the hands of the Zappa Family Trust.

To celebrate this, the estate has signed a global license and distribution deal with Universal Music Enterprises to release 60 of the iconic composer's recordings. The roll-out kicks off July 31 with 12 recordings, with another dozen recordings to be released monthly through the end of 2012.

"The ink is not yet dry on The Zappa Family Trust's worldwide deal with Universal Music Enterprises," says Gail Zappa. "They made us the offer we couldn't refuse--for all the right reasons. It is a win-win for all of us, but mostly for Frank Zappa. Long may his baton wave. We are so ready to go."

"The artist and composer, Frank Zappa, is one of the most important and influential artists in music history with his prolific body of work, including his breakthrough rock 'n roll concept albums. We are honored that Gail Zappa and the Zappa Family Trust have entrusted us with his legacy. We intend to honor him and bring high quality releases, digital and physical, for his new and longtime fans," said Bruce Resnikoff, President/CEO, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe).

The UME deal is for the entire Zappa Catalog as it appeared on Frank Zappa's own independent label, Barking Pumpkin Records. Many of the original analog masters have been re-mastered for this occasion. Yes that's right, you heard right. The entire Catalog, in all its spiffnificent glory will launch July 31, just in time for Frank Zappa's daughter Diva's birthday--an occasion that will be celebrated along with Gail, sister Moon Unit and brothers Dweezil and Ahmet.

For more information, go to

The initial 12 Frank Zappa releases included in the Zappa/Universal deal set for July 31 are as follows. **Date signifies original year of release.

  • 1. Freak Out! (1966)
  • 2. Absolutely Free (1967)
  • 3. Lumpy Gravy (1968)
  • 4. We're Only In It For The Money (1968)
  • 5. Cruising With Ruben & The Jets (1968)
  • 6. Uncle Meat (1969)
  • 7. Hot Rats (1969)
  • 8. Burnt Weeny Sandwich (1970)
  • 9. Weasels Ripped My Flesh (1970)
  • 10. Chunga's Revenge (1970)
  • 11. Fillmore East, June 1971 (1971)
  • 12. Just Another Band From L.A. (1972)


    [Published on: 6/12/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!