Revolver Golden Gods 2011 Add A7X, Cavalera, Bill Shatner


Avenged Sevenfold
Legendary actor, recording artist and author William Shatner will be presented with the Honorary Headbanger Award at the third annual Revolver Golden Gods Award Show presented by Epiphone® on Wednesday, April 20, at Club Nokia in Downtown Los Angeles. Shatner will be on-hand to accept his award, an honor Revolver magazine bestows each year to someone who has made their name outside of the metal world but still embodies its spirit. Later this year, Shatner will prove the latter with his new album, Seeking Major Tom (Cleopatra), which features collaborations with hard-rock musicians including Ritchie Blackmore and Ian Paice of Deep Purple, and, on a cover of Black Sabbath's "Iron Man," Zakk Wylde of Black Label Society and Mike Inez of Alice in Chains.

In other exciting news, Cherie Currie of The Runaways will make a special guest appearance, performing with the Presley/Cash inspired Metal group Volbeat, while Max Cavalera of Sepultura, Soulfly, and Cavalera Conspiracy will join Hatebreed's Jamey Jasta and Devildriver in their salute to the hardcore legends Black Flag.

Additional performances for the show include The Alice Cooper Group (in their first L.A. appearance in nearly 40 years), Loaded(featuring Duff McKagan of Guns N' Roses and Velvet Re fame), award-show host Chris Jericho's band Fozzy and fast-rising metalcore outfit Asking Alexandria, who will be joined by SEBASTIAN BACH on the Skid Row favorite “Youth Gone Wild.” The night will close out with a blistering set by Avenged Sevenfold. The event will be televised on VH1 Classic on Saturday, May 28, but for those who want to witness this epic show in person, tickets can be purchased via Ticketmaster at

The show will also feature host Chris Jericho, Rob Zombie, Dave Navarro, Vinnie Paul, Taylor Momsen, Wayne Static, Mike Portnoy, and members of Alice in Chains, Five Finger Death Punch, Dethklok, Megadeth, Anthrax, Fear Factory, Machine Head and many more.

In addition to the Honorary Headbanger Award, Alice Cooper will receive the "Golden God Award" and Mötley Crüe will receive the "Ronnie James Dio Lifetime Achievement Award." The winners in all the other award categories will be chosen by the people, but time is running out. Fans can vote now through Friday, April 1. Click here for a full list of nominees.

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »