Richard & Linda Thompson: Shoot Out The Lights Reissue


Shoot Out The Lights
Shoot Out The Lights is Richard and Linda Thompson’s final album together and, ironically, the folk-rock couple’s most artistically acclaimed and commercially successful. The album was recorded, scrapped, and rerecorded before finally emerging in 1982, arriving just around the time that the couple split up. Despite the separation, they embarked upon a U.S. tour to promote the album, delivering emotionally charged performances at every turn.

Rhino Handmade reissues the couple’s legendary swan song as a two-disc deluxe edition that includes the original album along with a bonus disc of 11 unreleased live performances from the tour. Due out October 12, Shoot Out The Lights (Deluxe Edition) is available for pre-order in mid-September exclusively at for a suggested list price of $39.98. Fans can sign up at now to be notified when the pre-order goes live using this link:

Track Listing
Disc 1
1. “Don’t Renege On Our Love”
2. “Walking On A Wire”
3. “A Man In Need”
4. “Just The Motion”
5. “Shoot Out The Lights”
6. “Back Street Slide”
7. “Did She Jump Or Was She Pushed?”
8. “Wall Of Death”

Disc 2 – Live
1. “Dargai” *
2. “Back Street Slide” *
3. “Pavanne” *
4. “I’ll Keep It With Mine” *
5. “Borrowed Time” *
6. “Did She Jump Or Was She Pushed?” *
7. “I’m A Dreamer” *
8. “Honky Tonk Blues” *
9. “Shoot Out The Lights” *
10. “For Shame Of Doing Wrong” *
11. “Dimming Of The Day” *

*Previously Unissued

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »