OMD: History of Modern


OMD (aka Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark) return with their first new album in 14 years. History of Modern will be released September 28th in the US via Bright Antenna Records through Warner Music Group’s Independent Label Group. The US version of History of Modern contains the US only exclusive track, “Save Me,” which features Aretha Franklin and is the album’s first single. has an exclusive interview with OMD’s Andy McCluskey along with the premiere of the new song “New Babies: New Toys.” Check it out here. Daily Motion just premiered the video for the first UK single, “If You Want It,” which is can be seen here.

Fans have the opportunity to pre-order History of Modern at OMD’s own webstore – They can choose between a limited edition box set and bundles including autographed vinyl, CD’s and exclusive t-shirt designs. All pre-orders come with an instant digital download of the single, “Save Me.”

In these electro-friendly times, OMD’s influence has become ubiquitous. The xx, Brandon Flowers of The Killers, and LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy have cited OMD as an inspiration, while the likes of La Roux, Cold Cave and The Horrors show traces of OMD’s DNA.

US Tracklisting:

1 "New Babies: New Toys"
2 "If You Want It"
3 "History of Modern (Part I)"
4 "History of Modern (Part II)"
5 "Sometimes"
6 "RFWK"
7 "New Holy Ground"
8 "The Future, The Past, And Forever After"
9 "Sister Marie Says"
10 "Pulse"
11 "Green"
12 "Bondage of Fate"
13 "The Right Side"
14 "Save Me" (featuring Aretha Franklin)

OMD Tour Dates :: OMD News :: OMD Concert Reviews

[Published on: 8/18/10]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »