King Britt: Intricate Beauty Out 4/20


King Britt
Intricate Beauty, due out April 20, is being billed as the final conventional dance album King Britt will ever make. This final chapter also marks King's first ever release on seminal house music label Nervous Records. Britt will then be concentrating on more experimental based music and searching for new avenues to help push the live electronic improvisational end of performance.

Intricate Beauty pulls together the different sounds that have helped shape King's dance DJ mind over the years, and the album is the story of what he loves to spin and how it all relates. In a sense, this is all the greatness of King Britt wrapped up under one disc.

Like a physical incarnation of the intricate mind, the process of how this album was constructed is quite advanced. King based the album on tiny micro sounds he procured from various random recordings and CDs. He then took all these tiny pieces and dumped them into Ableton Live where he sewed the puzzle pieces together. Once there were approximately 50 workable combinations of tracks he then constructed the songs musically. "In a few months I intend to release all the bits and pieces from Intricate Beauty as a Live Pack," King says. "These will be sounds that people can use for inspiration and production."

Beyond the album, this is a period of great change for King Britt. Not only is he working in a new studio but he's also cleansed spiritually; something that has also enabled him to enter into a new creative space with his newest venture, Saturn Never Sleeps, with multimedia artist Rucyl.

"When you find your path and stick with it, you're bound to hit a pentacle period of productivity," explains King. "I feel that in the next three years you'll really see and hear many sides of me musically. Mentally, physically and spiritually I have grown multitudes and have a very clear understanding of who I am and what I'm here for. Many of the lyrics on the album express some of these ideas."

Intricate Beauty Track List
1. Love What You Have (feat Rucyl Mills)
2. Now (feat Astrid Suryanto)
3. Nightlife (feat. Kim English)
4. Try Love (feat Lady Alma)
5. Keep It Movin
6. Los (feat Carlos Izaguerre)
7. Blackhand Side
8. Get Up feat. Byron Stingly (King Britt Old School Dub)
9. Peak Inside
10. Inner Self
11. The Intricate Beauty (feat Ryat)

King Britt tour dates available here.

[Published on: 1/28/10]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »