Air New Album: Love 2


The de facto ambassadors of modern French pop Air, Jean-Benoit Dunckel and Nicolas Godin, will release their fifth studio album Love 2 on October 6, the follow-up to the duo's 2007’s down-tempo classic Pocket Symphony and the first production to spring to life from their very own state-of-the-art recording facility Atlas Studio.

Nestled in the leafy backstreets of northern Paris, Atlas provided a creative idealized European safe-haven for the band to produce twelve new songs - recording and producing for the first time entirely by themselves. These recording sessions saw the band handling all vocal duties while LA-based drummer/percussionist Joey Waronker, who had previously joined them for their intimate, three-man "Close up" tour of south-east Asia in the Fall of 2008, stepped on-board for percussion work. Stéphane "Alf" Briat, a long-time fixture of the Paris music scene, whose work with Air dates back to some of their earliest material, came on board for the final mixdown at Atlas.

A viral single "Do The Joy" will be made available digitally on July 7, followed by a formal single release for the summery pop anthem "Sing Sang Sung" on August 25.

Air will set out on a European tour in early 2010 starting at the legendary Casino de Paris in their hometown and will then embark on North American dates during the Spring.

Love 2 track listing:
01. Do The Joy
02. Love
03. So Light Is Her Footfall
04. Be A Bee
05. Missing The Light Of The Day
06. Tropical Disease
07. Heaven's Light
08. Night Hunter
09. Sing Sang Sung
10. Eat My Beat
11. You Can Tell It To Everybody
12. African Velvet

[Published on: 6/18/09]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »