JFJO New EP and Tour

Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey Set To Release Studio EP On New Label

Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey
Fresh off an incredible set at this year's Wakarusa Music Festival, Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey will return to the studio to rehearse for their new tour. Their summer trek kicks off June 12 with a two night stint at Jardine's in Kansas City. Then it's off to the West Coast for three nights in the San Francisco Bay Area, a return to Arcata, and then three dates in Colorado.

Work was recently completed on a new EP entitled One Day in Brooklyn, which was recorded live at 58N6 in Brooklyn last July. The EP is set to be released in early September and marks the debut of the new quartet lineup in a studio setting. In addition to the EP being the first album to showcase the quartet, it is also the first release on the group's new record label Kinnara Records.

One Day In Brooklyn Track Listing:
1. The Black & Crazy Blues
2. Country Girl
3. Julia (The Beatles)
4. Imam (Abdulah Ibrahim)
5. Drethoven
6. Four In One (Thelonious Monk)

This new EP is said to draw upon "The Tulsa Sound" with heavy influences from hometown heroes like JJ Cale and Leon Russell. The group is also staying true to the perpetually evolving Jacob Fred fans have come to know and love.

2009 Tour Dates:
06/12/09 Fri Jardine's Kansas City, MO
06/13/09 Sat Jardine's Kansas City, MO
06/17/09 Wed Elbo Room San Francisco, CA
06/18/09 Thu Starry Plough Berkeley, CA
06/19/09 Fri Starry Plough Berkeley, CA
06/20/09 Sat Jambalaya Arcata, CA
06/24/09 Wed First Street Pub and Grill Nederland, CO
06/25/09 Thu The b.side Lounge Boulder, CO
06/26/09 Fri Owsley's Golden Road Denver, CO (w/ Fareed Haque)
07/09/09 Thu The Piazza at Schmidts Philadelphia, PA
07/10/09 Fri Lizard Lounge Cambridge, MA (w/ Club d'Elf)
07/11/09 Sat Lizard Lounge Cambridge, MA (w/ Club d'Elf)
07/14/09 Tue Iron Horse Music Hall Northampton, MA
07/17/09 Fri Downright Music and Art Collinsville, CT
07/18/09 Sat Joe's Pub New York, NY
08/08/09 Sat Cain's Ballroom Tulsa, OK
09/05/09 Sat Oklahoma City Arts Festival Oklahoma City, OK
09/10/09 Thu Kuumbwa Jazz Center Santa Cruz, CA
10/22/09 Thu The Encore Stevens Point, WI
10/23/09 Fri Cranky Pat's Neenah, WI

This link is for JFJO's amazing Winterwood (not the upcoming new-new studio release):

http://www.jfjo.com/

[Published on: 6/9/09]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!


You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



 
 

Comments

To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »