Chali 2na (J5): Solo Album

Chali 2na set to join the Rock The Bells Tour this Summer

Chali 2na
Renaissance man Chali 2na, founding member the seminal hip-hop group Jurassic 5, is excited to announce the release of his highly anticipated debut solo release, Fish Outta Water, set to drop on June 23 via Decon. In addition to the release of the album, Chali 2na has announced that he will be joining the acclaimed Rock The Bells tour this summer in support of his new album.

Chali's diverse tastes range from the blues he was raised on to the political gangsta rap he loved, to the graffiti art he sprayed as a teenager — and they all flow from this album. A powerful and deeply personal body of work, Fish Outta Water is quite simply a life's worth of songs in the making. Boasting production from the likes of Jake One, Scott Storch, and Cut Chemist and collaborations with Damian "Jr. Gong" Marley, Stephen Marley, Beenie Man, Anthony Hamilton, and Talib Kweli, the album feels like a new beginning of sorts for the artist who has successfully melded the bass-heavy bravado with his own life's story, and in doing so, creates art that's not only superb, it's important.

Chali, with his unmistakable, beloved baritone has firmly established himself as one of the most distinctive personalities, not just in hip-hop, but music in general. Only a select few can say they've rocked microphones in front of thousands at a sold-out arena in Tokyo with Jurassic 5, spit rhymes at Lollapalooza, appeared on two Van's Warped Tours and been backed by the Latin-tinged rock of Ozomatli. Chali recently appeared on Galactic's critically acclaimed release From The Corner To The Block and performed with the band for special sets at Bonnaroo and Jazz Fest.

Fish Outta Water Track Listing:
1. Get Focused
2. International ft. Beenie Man
3. So Crazy
4. Lock Shit Down ft. Talib Kweli
5. Don't Stop ft. Anthony Hamilton
6. Keep Goin' ft. Choklate
7. Comin' Thru
8. F.O.W.
9. Love's Gonna Getcha
10. Righteous Way
11. When Will I See You Again ft. Elzhi
12. Guns Up ft. Damian Marley & Stephen Marley
13. Graff Time
14. Controlled Coincidence ft. Kanetic Source
15. 4 Be Be ft. Ming Xia

[Published on: 4/28/09]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »