Full Show Friday | Frank Zappa In Paris 1980

One of the few pro-shot Frank Zappa concerts found on YouTube features FZ's June 11, 1980 performance at Palais des Sports in Paris, France. The show was broadcast on French TV later that year and re-broadcast in 2007.

The band for this show featured Zappa along with guitarists Ike Willis and Ray White, keyboardist Tommy Mars, bassist Arthur Barrow and David Logeman – one of the smallest bands in Frank’s history. Played just a year after the release of Joe’s Garage, the evening’s setlist only included a handful of tracks from the Rock Opera including the title track, "Why Does It Hurt When I Pee?" and "Keep It Greasey." The 26-song performance is delightfully guitar-heavy and contains a number of impressive solos. An interesting moment occurs in the middle of "Pound For A Brown," when Frank advises the crowd the band is going to perform something for a mystery guest. Turns out that guest was Pierre Boulez, one of the most distinguished composers and conductors in the world.

Enough of the small talk, check out over two wonderful hours of FZ in action:

01. Introduction
02. Chunga’s Revenge
03. Keep It Greasey
04. Outside Now
05. City Of Tiny Lights
06. Pound For A Brown
07. Cosmik Debris
08. You Didn’t Try To Call Me
09. I Ain’t Got No Heart
10. Love Of My Life
11. You Are What You Is
12. Easy Meat
13. Mudd Club
14. The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing
15. Heavenly Bank Account
16. Suicide Chump
17. Jumbo Go Away
18. If Only She Woulda
19. I Don’t Wanna Get Drafted
20. Joe’s Garage
21. Why Does It Hurt When I Pee?
22. Dancin’ Fool
23. Bobby Brown
24. Ms Pinky
25. Stick It Out
26. The Illinois Enema Bandit

[Published on: 9/12/14]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!