Patty Griffin to Release Seventh Studio Album in May


New West Records is proud to announce that Patty Griffin will release her new album, American Kid, on May 7. The album, co-produced by Griffin and Craig Ross, is her seventh and first for New West. It is her first album of mainly new material since the acclaimed Children Running Through in 2007. In between then and now, she made the Grammy Award-winning Downtown Church in 2010 and became a member of Band of Joy alongside Robert Plant.

American Kid, much of which Griffin says "was written to honor my father," returns to typical Patty Griffin territory, which is to say that it features a group of remarkably powerful, personal and unpredictable songs arranged and performed in a style that doesn't entirely repeat anything she's done on her previous albums while drawing on all of them.

The album was recorded in Memphis and features performances by producer Craig Ross on guitar, bass, mandolin, baritone, omnichord and organ, guitarist Doug Lancio, who has played on just about every Patty Griffin recording since Flaming Red, and produced some of them. Long-time friend and sound engineer, Roy Taylor helps out once again on American Kid, and Plant sings on three songs.

Tracklisting for American Kid:

  • Go Wherever You Want To Go
  • Don't Let Me Die In Florida
  • Ohio
  • Wild Old Dog
  • Mom & Dad's Waltz
  • Faithful Son
  • Highway Son
  • That Kind of Lonely
  • Irish Boy
  • Get Ready Marie
  • Not A Bad Man
  • Gonna Miss You When You're Gone

    Patty Griffin Tour Dates :: Patty Griffin News


    [Published on: 3/8/13]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!


    Related Goods