Bert Jansch: Heartbreak 30th Anniversary Edition


Omnivore Recordings will release a newly remastered 30th Anniversary limited edition LP and two-CD set of the long lost, out-of-print, landmark 1981 album Heartbreak, by seminal Scottish folk guitarist, singer, and composer Bert Jansch on November 6. The first pressing of the LP will be issued on 1,500 pieces of clear vinyl (with subsequent pressings on black vinyl), while the two-CD collection includes the original Heartbreak album in its entirety along with 14 previously unreleased tracks recorded during an intimate live show in June 1981 at the storied venue inside McCabe’s Guitar Shop in Santa Monica, Calif.

Set for release just days after what would have been Jansch’s 69th birthday (November 3), this is a collector’s must-have, featuring extras including special photos and liner notes by legendary English folk musician Ralph McTell and the album’s original producers.

Recorded in June 1981 (and released in 1982), Heartbreak was produced by two enthusiastic fans, Rick and John Chelew. This was the first time in the studio for Rick and his brother John (producer of the pivotal John Hiatt album Bring the Family, three Grammy award-winning albums for The Blind Boys of Alabama, and many others). They borrowed money from their mother to finance the sessions and to pay enlisted musicians like renowned guitarist Albert Lee (Eric Clapton, Emmylou Harris, The Everly Brothers, Bill Wyman) and noted singer/songwriter Jennifer Warnes to accompany Bert in the small Silverlake Studio where the album was recorded. During the sessions, Bert played a few live solo shows around California, including the legendary folk club McCabe's Guitar Shop in Santa Monica. Fortunately, Rick and John had the foresight to document these concerts, and now the 30th Anniversary Edition of Heartbreak has been further enhanced by a previously unreleased, complete live show from McCabe's Guitar Shop.

Disc One Heartbreak:

  • 1. Blackwater Side
  • 2. Sit Down Beside Me
  • 3. Up to the Stars
  • 4. Is It Real?
  • 5. Wild Mountain Thyme
  • 6. Heartbreak Hotel
  • 7. No Rhyme Nor Reason
  • 8. If I Were a Carpenter
  • 9. Give Me the Time
  • 10. And Not a Word Was Said

    Disc Two Live at McCabe’s Guitar Shop:

  • 1. Curragh of Kildare
  • 2. Poor Mouth
  • 3. Blackwater Side
  • 4. One for Jo
  • 5. Let Me Sing
  • 6. If I Were a Carpenter
  • 7. Blues Run the Game
  • 8. Is It Real?
  • 9. Ask Your Daddy
  • 10. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  • 11. Kingfisher
  • 12. Wild Mountain Thyme
  • 13. Come Back Baby
  • 14. I Am Lonely

  • [Published on: 10/25/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!


    Related Goods