Grateful Dead And Love Vinyl Out On Record Store Day


The Grateful Dead made Winterland its home for years until 1978, when the band closed Bill Graham’s legendary venue for good with a spectacular New Year’s Eve blow out. The friendly confines of the former ice-skating rink always seemed to bring out something special in the band. That’s certainly true of the group’s May 30, 1971 performance, which was the second night of a homestand during the era later immortalized on the 1971 live collection Skull and Roses.

For Record Store Day’s Black Friday event on November 23, and Rhino will release a portion of that show (all that the band has in their vault) for the first time, offering it on 180-gram vinyl as a limited edition double-LP set of 7500 copies. Winterland 5/30/71 will be available exclusively at select independent music retailers for a suggested price of $34.98. Visit for a list of participating stores.

Another West Coast band is the focus of a second Record Store Day Black Friday release. Rhino celebrates the 45-year anniversary of Love’s Forever Changes with a limited edition version of the band’s masterwork on 180-gram vinyl. As a bonus, the LP comes with a 7” that has the single-edit of “Alone Again Or” b/w “House Is Not A Motel.” The release is limited to 1500 copies and will be available exclusively at select independent music retailers for a suggested price of $24.98. Acclaim has only grown for the album since its debut in November 1967, following in the wake of the Summer of Love.


Side One
1. “Sugar Magnolia”
2. “Cumberland Blues”
3. “Big Boss Man”

Side Two
1. “Me And My Uncle”
2. “Deal”
3. "Truckin"

Side Three
1. "Turn On Your Lovelight"

Side Four
1. "Uncle John's Band"
2. "Casey Jones"
3. "Johnny B. Goode"


Side One
1. “Alone Again Or”
2. “A House Is Not A Motel”
3. “Andmoreagain”
4. “The Daily Planet”
5. “Old Man”
6. “The Red Telephone”

Side Two
1. “Maybe The People Would Be The Times Or Between Clark And Hilldale”
2. “Live And Let Live”
3. “The Good Humor Man He Sees Everything Like This”
4. “Bummer In The Summer”
5. “You Set The Scene”

Bonus 7”
“Alone Again Or” – single edit b/w “A House Is Not A Motel”

[Published on: 10/24/12]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!


Related Goods