The Mother Hips Announce New Album ‘Live At The Great American Music Hall’

By Andy Kahn Oct 31, 2019 9:17 am PDT

The Mother Hips will release a new live album, Live At The Great American Music Hall, on November 29 via Blue Rose Music. The live album will be issued digitally and as a limited edition double-CD.

Recorded during The Mother Hips’ holiday run in 2017 at San Francisco’s Great American Music Hall, Live At The Great American Music Hall consists of 28 tracks captured over two nights at the famed venue. The shows constituted Hips’ guitarist Tim Bluhm’s official return to the live stage following a nearly fatal recreational sporting accident that occurred months prior. Joining Bluhm at Great American was co-founding Hips’ guitarist Greg Loicano, drummer John Hofer, keyboardist Jason Crosby, bassist Gabe Nelson and vocalist Scheila Gonzalez. The Mother Hips shared the following regarding the pending live album:

This album consists of recordings of concerts performed on December 15th and 16th, 2017 at San Francisco’s famed Great American Music Hall. We feel this album represents well the band as it was at that time, and that it also represents well the community that has grown around the music contained herein. In that sense these are not recordings of a band playing to a live audience so much as they are recordings of a community coming together and making the sounds of joy, of appreciation, of friendships new and old, and even some sadness. There are lots of others sounds on these recordings too but you’ll have to just listen for yourself. You might even hear your own voice in there. We hope you enjoy them as much as we do.

Pre-order the limited edition CD version of Live At The Great American Music Hall here — a portion of sales goes toward the Blue Rose Foundation, “which provides pre-school scholarships to financially disadvantaged children.” Watch a previously shared video directed by Jay Blakesberg of the December 16, 2017 performance of “Third Floor Story” below:

Live At The Great American Music Hall Tracklist:

  1. Esmerelda
  2. Time-Sick Son Of A Grizzly Bear
  3. One Way Out
  4. Del Mar Station
  5. Clean Me Up
  6. Later Days
  7. Life In The City
  8. High Note Hitters
  9. Smoke
  10. Gold Plated
  11. Pull Us All Together
  12. Singing Seems To Ease Me
  13. Channel Island Girl
  14. It’s Alright
  15. Magazine
  16. Third Floor Story
  17. Honeydew
  18. Tuffy
  19. Time We Had
  20. Precious Opal
  21. Young Charles Ives
  22. Didn’t Pay The Bill
  23. White Falcon Fuzz
  24. End Of The Chorus
  25. Rich Little Girl
  26. Confirmation of Love
  27. Stoned Up The Road
  28. Song for JB
JamBase Collections