The Marcus King Band Shares New Single ‘Ain’t Nothin’ Wrong With That’

By Andy Kahn Aug 19, 2016 1:11 pm PDT

Fantasy Records will release a new self-titled The Marcus King Band album on October 7. The group’s sophomore LP features the single “Ain’t Nothin’ Wrong With That” which has been shared in advance of the record’s release.

Produced by Warren Haynes, the 13-song album features the Gov’t Mule guitarist on the track “Virginia.” Among the other guests on the album is slide guitarist Derek Trucks who appears on the song “Self-Hatred.” The band featuring the 20-year-old King on lead guitar and vocals, Jack Ryan on drums, Stephen Campbell on bass, Matt Jennings on keyboards, Dean Mitchell on saxophone and Justin Johnson on trumpet, trombone and backing vocals, recorded the follow-up to 2015’s Soul Insight at Carriage House Studios in Stamford, Connecticut.

“Marcus is the first player I’ve heard since Derek Trucks to play with the maturity of a musician well beyond his age,” said Haynes. “He’s very much influenced by the blues, but also by jazz, rock, soul music, and any timeless genre of music. You can hear the influences, but it all comes through him in his own unique way. He has one of those voices that instantly draws you in, and his guitar playing is an extension of his voice and vice versa.”

Stream the album’s opening track and lead single “Ain’t Nothin’ Wrong With That” here:

Head over to PledgeMusic to pre-order the album with a variety of deluxe packages also being offered.

The Marcus King Band Tracklist

  1. Ain’t Nothin’ Wrong With That
  2. Devil’s Land
  3. Rita Is Gone
  4. Self-Hatred (Feat. Derek Trucks)
  5. Jealous Man
  6. The Man You Didn’t Know
  7. Plant Your Corn Early
  8. Radio Soldier
  9. Guitar In My Hands
  10. Thespian Espionage
  11. Virginia (Feat. Warren Haynes)
  12. Sorry ‘Bout Your Lover
  13. The Mystery Of Mr. Eads
JamBase Collections