Grateful Dead To Release ‘Dave’s Picks Volume 18’ San Francisco 1976


Later this year the Grateful Dead will release Dave’s Picks Volume 18 featuring the band’s July 17, 1976 performance at the Orpheum Theatre in San Francisco. The concert was part of a six-show run in the Dead’s hometown following the group’s hiatus from touring that spanned October 1974 – June 1976. Those who purchase the Dave’s Picks 2016 subscription package will receive a bonus disc featuring selections from the previous evening’s second set. Highlights from the previous night’s first set can be found on the third disc of Dave’s Picks Volume 18.

While the tracklist and release date have yet to be revealed, Grateful Dead archivist David Lemieux has shared some details about Volume 18, “Dave’s Picks 18 is a show that Dick Latvala turned me onto in 1999, which Dick had had his ear on for a long time. It’s a very different 1976 show, with more of a 1974 vibe, and features spectacular versions of ‘Comes A Time,’ ‘The Other One,’ ‘Sugaree,’ and a 15-minute ‘Not Fade Away’ as the second encore. Add to this the bonus material from the previous night’s show along with that show’s second set jam sequence on the Bonus Disc, and 2016 subscribers will be receiving pretty much a 2-show, 4-CD box set of two terrific nights in the Summer of 1976 in the band’s hometown.” Subscription packages will only be available for a few more days. Dave’s Picks Volume 18 will be put up for sale without the bonus disc via the Store in the coming months.

Watch David Lemieux’s Seaside Chat about Dave’s Picks Volume 18:


Grateful Dead at Orpheum Theatre

Set I
  • The Promised Land  
  • Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
  • Mama Tried  
  • Deal  
  • Minglewood Blues  
  • Peggy-O  
  • Big River  
  • Sugaree  
  • Johnny B. Goode  
Set II
  • Samson and Delilah  
  • Comes a Time  
  • Drums
  • The Other One
  • Eyes of the World
  • The Other One
  • Going Down the Road Feelin' Bad  
  • One More Saturday Night  
  • U.S. Blues
  • Not Fade Away