Fleck, Hussain & Meyer: New Album & Fall Tour

Advertisement
Béla Fleck, Zakir Hussain & Edgar Meyer
Conjure A New Sound Steeped In Indian Tradition, Chamber Music and American Roots
With An Unprecedented Collaboration The Melody of Rhythm
North American Fall Tour Dates Confirmed

Béla Fleck
On August 25, E1 Music will release The Melody of Rhythm, an impressive collaboration between banjo virtuoso Béla Fleck, composer and double-bass master Edgar Meyer and Zakir Hussain, arguably the world’s greatest tabla player, followed by a 19-city tour of North American concert halls in September and October.

The centerpiece and catalyst for the album is “The Melody of Rhythm: Concerto,” a thoughtful three-movement composition for banjo, double bass and tabla. Recorded live with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra and conducted by Leonard Slatkin, this highly rhythmic work soars, melding Indian classical music with American roots.

Béla Fleck, Zakir Hussain and Edgar Meyer will be on tour this Fall in support of The Melody of Rhythm.

Tour Dates:
09/13/09 Sun Bass Hall Austin, TX
09/19/09 Sat Neal S. Blaisdell Arena Honolulu, HI
09/20/09 Sun Neal S. Blaisdell Arena Honolulu, HI
09/26/09 Sat Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall Portland, OR
09/29/09 Tue Royal Conservatory Toronto, ON
09/30/09 Wed Stanley Performing Arts Center Utica, NY
10/01/09 Thu Princeton University Princeton, NJ
10/02/09 Fri Bucknell University Lewisburg, PA
10/03/09 Sat The Egg Albany, NY
10/04/09 Sun University of Richmond Richmond, VA
10/06/09 Tue Williams Center for the Arts Easton, PA
10/08/09 Thu University of Tennessee Knoxville, TN
10/11/09 Sun Memorial Hall Chapel Hill, NC
10/15/09 Thu Grinnell College Grinnell, IA
10/16/09 Fri Goshen College Goshen, IN
10/18/09 Sun Gusman Center for the Performing Arts Miami, FL
10/20/09 Tue Mesa Arts Center – Ikeda Theater Mesa, AZ
10/22/09 Thu Royce Hall at UCLA Los Angeles, CA
10/24/09 Sat Chan Centre Vancouver, BC
10/28/09 Wed San Francisco Jazz Festival San Francisco, CA

For more on Fleck, check our recent exlusive feature/interview here.