Elton John & Leon Russell: The Union Out 10/19

By Team JamBase Jun 24, 2010 10:32 am PDT


Leon Russell
Direct Current is reporting that Elton John and Leon Russell have finished recording an album of new material. The Union is scheduled for an October 19 release on Decca Records. The album is produced by T Bone Burnett and features fifteen original songs written by the duo of Elton John and Bernie Taupin, together with Leon Russell.

Taupin’s website states: “The trio has cut fifteen songs ranging from Stones-like rockers, country tinged ballads, gospel and even a Sinatra like weepy similar to something torn from the grooves of ‘In the Wee Small Hours’. As reported before it’s varied in scope and drenched in a rich tapestry of atmospherics. Don’t expect to hear the old EJ/BT sound; this is organic recording unlike anything you’ve heard from our duo before.”

Says John via his website: “I can’t stress enough how significant an influence Leon Russell was on the music of Elton John and Bernie Taupin. In 1970, when we first went to America and I played The Troubadour, we were obsessed by Leon’s music, and looked up to him as some kind of musical god. On the second night of the Troubadour concerts he was there in the front row, but luckily I didn’t spot him until near the end of the show, otherwise I would have been a nervous wreck.”

The album features a stellar backing band of drummers Jim Keltner and Jay Bellerose, Dennis Crouch on bass, guitarist Marc Ribot and Keefus Ciancia on keyboards. Joining in on the fun will be guest spots by Neil Young, Brian Wilson, Robert Randolph, and Booker T. Jones.

JamBase Collections