Thursday, May 9, 2013

Wharton Center for Performing Arts
East Lansing, MI

Venue Info

Fans Going

  • 0 People have added this event to their My JamBase Personal Show Calendar.

Show Info

Prokofiev - "Scenes from Romeo and Juliet" Rachmaninoff - "Piano Concerto No. 1" The season closes with works by two remarkable Russian composers, Rachmaninoff and Prokofiev, who were also prominent pianists and conductors. Beginning the program is Prokofiev’s highly acclaimed composition, Scenes from “Romeo and Juliet,” a piece that follows the tragic yet magnificent narrative of the original story. Closing out the season is piano extraordinaire Christopher O’Riley, returning to the LSO to perform Rachmaninoff’s spirited Piano Concerto No. 1. O’Riley's playing has been described by The Washington Post as “so delicate that he seemingly left no fingerprints on the keys, yet his melodies sung out with sweet clarity...” The perfect ending for the Lansing Symphony’s celebrated 83rd season!
Ticket Price: 15 to 50 dollars. Student pricing is available.
Show Time:8:00 PM
Ages:All Ages

Event Forum