ALABAMA SHAKES 'Women & Work' Contest
+ 2012 TOUR INFO
Download the New Album from iTunes!
"A thunderbolt dressed in blue jeans with music that's aching when it's slow and growling and whooping when it's fast." - The New York Times
"You'll fall in love the minute you hear it." -NPR
"Channeling the ghosts of Janis Joplin and Otis Redding. Destined to be one of the albums of the summer - Los Angeles Times
Cover ArtALABAMA SHAKES :: BOYS & GIRLS (4.10.2012)
Alabama Shakes' debut release of Boys & Girls marks of a major new rock-and-roll band.  The album is available everywhere now on ATO Records.  Recorded at The Bomb Shelter in Nashville, TN and produced and mixed by the band members, the album is a vibrant fusion of swampy, dirty Southern rock, blues and soul delivered with punk rock fervor.  From the heartrending title song to such stomps as "Rise to the Sun," the album demonstrates the sense of groove and space the band learned from their idols, along with a blistering force and emotion that simply can't be learned.

Cover ArtFrom Athens, AL, the band – comprising vocalist/guitarist Brittany Howard, guitarist Heath Fogg, drummer Steve Johnson and bassist Zac Cockrell – began playing together when they were in high school.  When they appeared at a Nashville record store, people started to take notice of the group's relentless, hard-charging live attack, and Howard's magnetic stage presence.  One fan included Justin Gage, the founder of the blog Aquarium Drunkard who soon after posted "You Ain't Alone," on his blog in late July, calling it "a slice of the real." And, literally overnight, all hell broke loose.

Watch the official video for "Hold On" on YouTube...


Alabama Shakes are kicking off their album release tour on April 5th in Athens, GA
and will then play six sold-out dates with Jack White. The band will also perform at the Hangout, Sasquatch, Bonnaroo and Newport Folk festivals.

Stream the New Album! Available Exclusively from JamBase

Boys & Girls by Alabama Shakes
Track Listing:
1. Hold On
2. I Found You
3. Hang Loose
4. Rise to the Sun
5. You Ain't Alone
6. Goin' to the Party
7. Heartbreaker
8. Boys & Girls
9. Be Mine
10. I Ain't the Same
11. On Your Way
12. Heavy Chevy (Bonus Track)
Connect with Alabama Shakes on their Official Site as well as: