Sat Eye Candy: Billy Joel
JamBase
JamBase
5/9/2009 12:00 AM

Sat Eye Candy: Billy Joel

meanmrmonkey
meanmrmonkey
5/9/2009 02:34 AM

Thanks for giving Billy Joel some credit. If you take some time to delve into his career you will find some amazing work. I am especially loving the fact that the first song you posted was Vienna. On an album loaded with hits (The Stranger), Vienna is the hidden gem. I think it is the best song on the album. Some of his stuff hasn't aged well, but he has written some amazing songs along the way. Most of the songs that I like aren't the popular ones. The deep tracks are where the quality lies.

wma
wma
5/9/2009 03:10 PM

I agree. Most of his best songs are the ones that weren't popular. "Allentown". What a song appropiate for the times! The steel industry is gonna hurt even more with car companies ongoing problems. As a musician, I can sure apprecite his style. His recent stuff is not all that impressive but you've got to admit he could write a catchy tune with nice music and catchy lyrics that even Mozart would be envious of!

puseykev
puseykev
5/9/2009 03:37 PM

My very first concert was Billy Joel...when I was 15...in the Oneonta, N.Y. H.S. gym. The N.Y. Yankees had just won the pennant race...and he was very excited...to say the least! He came back 4 times for encores! Incredible.

puseykev
puseykev
5/9/2009 03:38 PM

That was in 1975, btw.

Joshl92482
Joshl92482
5/9/2009 04:13 PM

My first or 2nd concert was billy joel + elton John... my dad took me... they played pinball wizard together..... nuff said. Wait... who doesn't like Billy Joel??

rubbersledhead
rubbersledhead
5/9/2009 09:24 PM