Philadelphia Grand Jury
Philadelphia Grand Jury Philadelphia Grand Jury has always been two friends: Berkfinger and MC Bad Genius. Previously knowing each other for some 20 years Berkfinger hadn't seen Bad Genius for going on 6 years when one day the curious bearded fellow just strolled into one of his solo shows with a bass and plugged himself right back into the singer's life.

These two childhood buddies since had a rotating ensemble of drummers – until recently. Joining Berkfinger and MC Bad Genius is 54 year-old African American drummer Calvin, who used to session drum for US disco and funk acts like Earth Wind and Fire and bebop legend Sonny Stitt. Together they are a self-funded, self-produced, self-engineered, self-released, stage-destroying independent punk soul machine.

Recorded by band lead and producer Berkfinger (who has also worked on records for Wolfmother, The Temper Trap, Art vs Science and others) the band's recorded output displays the engrained Do-It-Yourself nature of Philadelphia Grand Jury at its best with comparisons to a punkier version of Elvis Costello and regular references to The Eels and Talking Heads.

The Philly Jays (as their fans affectionately refer to them) are exciting to watch and critics have lauded them as “a band you must see before you die". Literally explosive on stage their only secret is to write great songs and play them like it's their last show ever. Every. Single. Time.

Links
Band site: http://www.philadelphiagrandjury.com
Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/philadelphiagrandjury

Contacts
Management: Martin Novosel at Boundary Sounds – martin@boundarysounds.com
UK Press/Media: Hayley Connelly at Little Press – hayley@littlepress.co.uk
US Press/Media: Matt Kleinschmidt at The Syndicate – matt@thesyn.com
Australian Press/Media: Claire Collins – claire@bossymusic.com
UK & ROW Bookings: Tom Taaffe at ITB – tom@itb.co.uk
Australian Bookings: Rob G at Select Music – rob@selectmusic.com