Ambush Ambush is a country music group, formed in 1993 in Ottawa, and now based in Perth, Ontario, Canada.

The original line-up (from 1993 to 1998) consisted of Skip Layton (drums), Jef Leeson (bass guitar and lead vocals) and Mark McDonell (guitar and vocals). They met while working as the backup band for Ottawa-area singer Dennis Whitty, and derived the name Ambush from the name of Whitty's backing band, 'Bushwacker'. The original line-up recorded three cover albums, in 1993, 1994 and 1995 (produced by singer Leeson and released on his independent label Chancellor Music), before recording their first CD in Nashville over 1995 and 1996, with producer-writer Cyril Rawson. These recordings yielded modest regional hits with "Since She Got Back From Texas" and "Girls Like That". In 1997, a 3-track CD featuring the songs "Let's Go Crazy Girl", "Since She Got Back From Texas" and "Don't Let It Hit You on the Way Out" (all originally from their 1996 debut CD) was released, which included new vocals and remixes by Chad Irschick at Inception Sound Studios in Toronto.

Leeson left the band in November 1998 to pursue a solo career and record production work. He was replaced by Glenn Desjardines at that time, who in turn was replaced by Riq Turner in October 2001. Layton departed in October 2005, replaced by Jim Wright. Wright left the band in October 2011, to be replaced by Tom VanCoughnett.

In 2006, the band released a studio album entitled I Wanna Go Home With You. This album included singles such as “This Could Be The Night”, “Too Hot For Words” and “Anything To Rock You”. With the success of this album the band decided to record another album. At the 2007 CCMA Awards, the band made the transition from the “small-town-local-bar-band” to the nominees for Group of the Year. In 2009, Ambush released their self titled studio album, Ambush.