Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey
Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey Over the course of 20 years, 22 albums, and countless tours around the world, Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey has become an institution in modern music. With their unique approach, JFJO has created a devoted following of music lovers and critics alike. Defined by evolution and change, the band has invented it’s own improvisatory language, one which permeates JFJO’s sound regardless of configuration. Though there is no Jacob or Fred, the last 20 years have been a Jazz Odyssey. Beginning in 1994 in Tulsa, OK as a funky octet with MCs and horns, JFJO became an instrumental trio in 1999, a quartet in 2007, and expanded to a 9-piece ensemble for 2011's "Race Riot Suite." 2014 finds the band returning to the trio setting; with Brian Haas on acoustic piano/Fender Rhodes/bass Moog and synth, Chris Combs on electric guitar/lap steel and synth, and Josh Raymer on drums, JFJO is now making the most modern and immediate music of the band’s career.