The Velvet Underground: Tribute Album, Reissue


Universal Music Enterprises and Castle Face Records have joined forces for the release of the 45th Anniversary of The Velvet Underground & Nico with a tribute album featuring Ty Segall (“Femme Fatale”), White Fence (“Run Run Run), The Fresh & Onlys (“All Tomorrow’s Parties”), Thee Oh Sees (“European Son”) - who will be playing NYC's ATP Festival this weekend - among others. Brian Eno famously said “the album may not have sold many copies, but everyone who bought it formed a band.”

In anticipation of the 45th Anniversary, The Velvet Underground & Nico by Castle Face And Friends will be available November 6 on vinyl only, but starting on October 15 and continuing to October 29; fans will be able to download a song a day for from the tribute album on various participating sites.

On October 30 The Velvet Underground & Nico will be available in a limited edition six CD Super Deluxe box set featuring 30 previously unreleased tracks, including a previously unavailable November ’66 live concert performed by the Velvets’ original, five-person lineup-Lou Reed, John Cale, Sterling Morrison, Moe Tucker and Nico-at the Valleydale Ballroom in Columbus, Ohio, and Nico’s Chelsea Girl, an album released in October 1967 (seven months after the Velvets’ disc) which included all the members of the band as well as a teenage folk singer named Jackson Browne. The box set also includes an 88-page booklet featuring a new essay by band biographer Richie Unterberger. Additional formats include a brand-new two-CD Deluxe Edition which includes a stereo version of the album along with a separate disc of the Factory rehearsals and Scepter Studios sessions. There will also be a digital exclusive and a one-CD original stereo album remaster in both physical and digital form.

Tracklisting for Castle Face Tribute

A Side

  • 1. Sunday Morning – Kelly Stoltz
  • 2. I’m Waiting For The Man – Warm Soda
  • 3. Femme Fatale – Ty Segall
  • 4. Venus In Furs – Blasted Canyons feat. Jeremy Cox (of Royal Baths)
  • 5. Run Run Run – White Fence
  • 6. All Tomorrow’s Parties – The Fresh & Onlys

    B Side

  • 1. Heroin – Burnt Ones
  • 2. There She Goes Again – The Mallard
  • 3. I’ll Be Your Mirror – Here Comes The Here Comes
  • 4. The Black Angel’s Death Song – K. Dylan + The Black Angel’s Death Songsmen
  • 5. European Son – Thee Oh Sees

  • [Published on: 9/20/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!


    Related Goods