Moogfest Adds Nas, Tim Hecker, Morton Subotnick & more


Moogfest 2012 is proud to announce some new additions to this year's line-up, featuring rap titan Nas, one of the genre's most influential MCs and who will be performing with a full, Moog-ed out, nine-piece band. In addition Moogfest welcomes back Tim Hecker and Daniel Lopatin, who both performed solo last year, but will be teaming up as a duo this year. Also joining the lineup are Asheville's own garage proggers Ahleuchatistas and New York duo Buke and Gase, who, in true Moog fashion, build their own instruments, speakers and pedals.

One of the most exciting and apropos additions to the lineup is Morton Subotnick. Like Bob Moog, Subotnick is a true innovator of electronic music and his Silver Apples of the Moon (1967) is one of the most influential pieces of electronic music and has inspired a generation of composers, performers, and music theorists. Subotnick will present 'From Silver Apples to a Sky of Cloudless Sulfur', a performance that will include the aforementioned legendary piece and will be accompanied by video created by Berlin-based media artist Lillevan.

The third annual Moogfest, the festival of electronic and visionary music that celebrates the innovative spirit of Bob Moog, is taking place Friday, October 26 and Saturday, October 27 in beautiful Asheville, NC, the city Bob Moog called home.

Weekend GA and VIP passes, daily GA tickets and travel packages for Moogfest 2012 are currently on sale exclusively at


  • Primus 3D
  • Orbital
  • Nas*
  • Miike Snow
  • Santigold
  • Richie Hawtin
  • Squarepusher
  • Explosions in the Sky
  • The Magnetic Fields
  • Four Tet
  • Divine Fits
  • GZA presents Liquid Swords
  • Carl Craig
  • Pantha Du Prince
  • Shpongle presents The Masquerade
  • Thomas Dolby
  • Black Moth Super Rainbow
  • Actress
  • Cold Cave
  • EL-P
  • Tim Hecker & Daniel Lopatin*
  • Mouse on Mars
  • Prefuse 73 with Teebs
  • Ana Sia
  • Morton Subotnick presents From Silver Apples to a Sky of Cloudless Sulfur*
  • Bear in Heaven
  • Killer Mike
  • Blondes
  • Julia Holter
  • Disclosure
  • Exitmusic
  • Trust
  • Buke & Gase*
  • Ahleuchatistas*
  • Wick-It the Instigator

  • *new addition


    [Published on: 8/29/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!


    Related Goods