NY GUITAR FEST: NEBRASKA

New York Guitar Festival 2006 Honors Bruce Springsteen's Landmark 1982 Album Nebraska. Free Gala Concert with Laura Cantrell, Dan Zanes, Vernon Reid, Mark Eitzel, Michelle Shocked, Meshell Ndegeocello, The National, Chocolate Genius, Marc Ribot, Martha Wainwright, Jesse Harris, Kevn Kinney, Lenny Kaye, Gary Lucas & Harry Manx.

The Event, happening Saturday, January 14 at New York's World Financial Center Winter Garden, is the opening performance of the 6th annual New York Guitar Festival.

NEW YORK -The New York Guitar Festival 2006 is honoring Bruce Springsteen's 1982 Nebraska album with a free gala concert under the glass atrium of the World Financial Center Winter Garden, 220 Vesey Street, Saturday, January 14, at 8:00 p.m.

Entitled "The Nebraska Project," this 25th anniversary celebration of the classic Bruce Springsteen album features on one stage a distinctive roster of singer-songwriters, bands and instrumentalists. "The Nebraska Project" opens this year's New York Guitar Festival.

Performing their own arrangements of one of the ten Nebraska songs are Laura Cantrell, Dan Zanes, Vernon Reid, Mark Eitzel, Michelle Shocked, Meshell Ndegeocello, The National, Chocolate Genius, Marc Ribot, Martha Wainwright, Jesse Harris, Kevn Kinney, Lenny Kaye, Gary Lucas and Harry Manx.

"Sometimes a recording artist's demo versions of songs are more brilliant than the final studio product. Nebraska is one of those moments in music history," said David Spelman, Artistic Director of the New York Guitar Festival. In 1982, Springsteen chose to release the demo versions of his newest songs, recorded with only acoustic or electric guitar, harmonica, and vocals, as his sixth album, Nebraska. The rest is history. www.brucespringsteen.net.

The song and artist run down for The Nebraska Project:
Nebraska . . . . . . . . . . . . . Michelle Shocked www.michelleshocked.com
Atlantic City . . . . . . . . . . .Jesse Harris www.jesseharrismusic.com
Mansion on the Hill . . . . . The National www.americanmary.com
Johnny 99 . . . . . . . . . . . . .Chocolate Genius www.chocolate-genius.com
Highway Patrolman . . . . .Martha Wainright www.marthawainwright.com
w/ Marc Ribot www.marcribot.com
State Trooper . . . . . . . . . .Dan Zanes www.festivalfive.com
w/Vernon Reid www.vernon-reid.com
Used Cars . . . . . . . . . . . . Laura Cantrel www.lauracantrell.com
Open All Night . . . . . . . . .Meshell Ndegeocello www.meshell.com
My Father's House . . . . . Mark Eitzel www.markeitzel.com
or www.american-music-club.com
Reason to Believe . . . . . . .Kevn Kinney www.kevnkinney.com
w/ Lenny Kaye (well-known as Patti Smith's guitarist)
Plus instrumental interludes by Gary Lucas www.garylucas.com
Harry Manx www.harrymanx.com, and Marc Ribot www.marcribot.com.

The New York Guitar Festival was founded in 1999 by musician and producer David Spelman to broaden the public's appreciation for the guitar. The Festival fosters emerging talent, supports innovative collaborations among outstanding nationally known artists, and commissions new works. Look for 60 guitarists, performing 20 shows at 7 venues between January 14 and February 8, 2006, including the ever-popular Guitar Marathon, performances by Bill Frissell, Daniel Lanois, and much, much more. Visit www.newyorkguitarfestival.org for complete line-up and details.

[Published on: 12/19/05]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!


You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!