Tori Amos: Night of Hunters

NEW ALBUM SET FOR SEPTEMBER 2011 RELEASE; 21ST CENTURY SONG CYCLE
INSPIRED BY CLASSICAL MUSIC THEMES SPANNING OVER 400 YEARs

Tori Amos
Tori Amos marks her debut album for Deutshe Grammophon, the world's most celebrated classical music record label with Night of Hunters, set for release this September. The iconic, platinum-selling singer-songwriter continues her legacy of ground-breaking recordings with this 21st century song cycle inspired by select classical pieces spanning the last 400 years.

With Night of Hunters, Amos carries on the classical tradition of variations on a theme: taking inspiration from classical forms to create a bold new work while paying tribute to the mastery of the original compositions.

On Night of Hunters, which she wrote and produced, Amos comments, "I have used the structure of a classical song cycle to tell an ongoing, modern story. The protagonist is a woman who finds herself in the dying embers of a relationship. In the course of one night she goes through an initiation of sorts that leads her to reinvent herself allowing the listener to follow her on a journey to explore complex musical and emotional subject matter".

"One of the main themes explored on this album is the hunter and the hunted and how both exist within us." the singer explains.

The release of Night of Hunters will be supported by a tour in Europe and the U.S. starting in Helsinki, Finland on September 28. Check out all tour dates below.

TOUR DATES
09/28/11 Wed Ice Hall Helsinki, FI
09/30/11 Fri Oktyabrsky Hall St. Petersburg, RUS
10/02/11 Sun Crocus Hall Moscow, RUS
10/04/11 Tue Den Atelier Luxembourg, LU
10/05/11 Wed Grand Rex Paris, FRA
10/07/11 Fri Teatro Smeraldo Milan, IT
10/10/11 Mon Laeiszhalle Hamburg, GER
10/11/11 Tue Tempodrom Berlin, GER
10/13/11 Thu Sala Kongresowa Warsaw, PL
10/17/11 Mon Carre Theater Amsterdam, NL
10/20/11 Thu Sentrum Scene Oslo, NO
10/21/11 Fri Royal Theatre Copenhagen, DK
10/24/11 Mon KKL Luzern Luzern, SWI
10/25/11 Tue Stadthalle Vienna, AUS
10/26/11 Wed Alte Oper Frankfurt, GER
10/28/11 Fri Koningin Elisabethzaal Antwerp, BEL
10/29/11 Sat Bozar Brussels, BEL
10/31/11 Mon Philharmonie Essen, GER
11/02/11 Wed Royal Albert Hall London, GB
11/04/11 Fri Manchester Apollo Manchester, GB
11/06/11 Sun Royal Concert Hall Glasgow, GB
11/08/11 Tue Waterfront Norwich, GB
11/09/11 Wed Grand Canal Theatre Dublin, IR

Tori Amos Tour Dates :: Tori Amos News

http://www.toriamos.com

[Published on: 5/5/11]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!


You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



 
 

Comments

To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »