To commemorate the massive success of the second annual Bonnaroo Music Festival, Bonnaroo and Sanctuary Records Group are proud to announce the September 30th release of the double CD, LIVE FROM BONNAROO 2003, as well as the DVD of the film, 270 MILES FROM GRACELAND – BONNAROO 2003, to be released October 21st. John Alagia (Dave Matthews Band, John Mayer) produced the 23-song double CD. The DVD was directed by photographer and filmmaker extraordinaire Danny Clinch (Ben Harper's documentary Pleasure and Pain). The media and lucky contest winners will be able to get a sneak preview of the film at the premiere event to be held at New York's legendary Ziegfeld Theater on October 8th.

As Lollapalooza and Woodstock have become synonymous with musical movements, so too has Bonnaroo, in the sense that its artists all share a reputation for great live performances. The CD and DVD collections, which represent the very best from this year's landmark three-day camping and music festival, are sure to extend the Bonnaroo movement beyond the 80,000 who attended. About the CD, Alagia exclaimed, "We had such a wealth of material to choose from because all these bands put out their best at Bonnaroo. We could do four volumes!" In making the film Clinch said, "For all my previous films, I was the main cinematographer. For shooting something of this magnitude – 4 stages, 80,000 people – I hired cinematographers who I could trust to translate the feeling I was trying to capture... a classic hand-held documentary style combined with adventurous framing and point of view."

Bonnaroo 2003 was held from June 13 – 15, 2003, on the same pristine, 600-acre farm in Manchester, TN, on which the inaugural event took place. Over 60 musical performances took place on five stages by artists spanning many generations and genres. Acts as diverse as Neil Young, The Dead, James Brown, Widespread Panic, Emmylou Harris, Galactic, Sonic Youth, Flaming Lips and The Roots, delivered memorable performances for thousands of adoring fans.

While the first Bonnaroo Festival marked the culmination of the contemporary American grassroots rock movement; this year's event heightened the promise of its expanding horizons and limitless potential. "It was very encouraging to see how open these fans are to all different types of acts," says A.C. Entertainment's Ashley Capps. Rolling Stone called Bonnaroo 2003 "the best U.S. rock fest... the music festival to end all festivals."

For the second year in a row, Bonnaroo has wowed the industry with its incredibly smooth execution, largely due to the fan-friendly atmosphere that the producers created and the cooperative crowd that the musicians drew. New York Times critic Ben Ratliff, noted, "Music fans at rock festivals are, by and large, abused by sound, security, visibility, parking, aggressive advertising, and ugly surroundings. But the organizers of the Bonnaroo festival are aiming much higher." The festival's rapid ticket sales are another indication that fans appreciate Bonnaroo for its dedication to a high quality experience. This year's event sold out of its 80,000 tickets in just 16 days with no traditional advertising. The DVD of the first festival, LIVE FROM BONNAROO, has been certified gold.

There is no doubt that Bonnaroo has arrived and is now seen as the premier music and camping festival in the country.

The tracklisting for the CD is as follows:

Disc 1

The Dead – Sugar Magnolia

Allman Brothers Band – High Cost of Low Living

Jack Johnson – Wasting Time

Flaming Lips – A Spoonful Weighs a Ton

Galactic – Space Headz March

My Morning Jacket – Dancefloors

Sonic Youth – She Is Not Alone

Warren Haynes – The Real Thing

Jason Mraz – You & I Both

Ben Kweller – Walk on Me

The Polyphonic Spree – It's the Sun

Disc 2

Widespread Panic – Papa Johnny Road

James Brown – I Feel Good

Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals – Sexual Healing

The Roots – The Seed

Medeski Martin & Wood – Macha

Emmylou Harris – Red Dirt Girl

Bela Fleck & the Flecktones – Sleeper

Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon – Rings

Nickel Creek – I Should've Known Better

O.A.R. – Risen

Keller Williams – Love Handles

Buddahead – Invisible


The tracklisting for the DVD is as follows:

Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra - Talkatif

Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals – Temporary Remedy

Warren Haynes – Beautifully Broken

The Polyphonic Spree – It's the Sun

Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon – William Powell

Bela Fleck & the Flecktones – Sleeper

Widespread Panic – Papa Johnny Road

Medeski Martin & Wood – Uninvisible

My Morning Jacket – Lowdown

Robert Randolph & the Family Band – I Need More Love

Jack Johnson – Mud Football

Tortoise – Tin Cans & Twine

Nickel Creek – I Should've Known Better

Sonic Youth – Bull in the Heather

The Roots – You Got Me

The Dead – Sugar Magnolia

Flaming Lips – Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robot

North Mississippi Allstars – Be So Glad

Yonder Mountain String Band – Mother's Only Son

Ben Kweller – Walk on Me

Allman Brothers Band – Desdemona

James Brown – I Feel Good

[Published on: 9/30/03]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!