Gov't Mule New Album

Gov't Mule Roars Back With Torrid Set of Tracks
And a New-Found Shot Of Soul on By A Thread Out July 28

Gov't Mule
Gov't Mule has completed work on By A Thread. Their first studio album in three years, it is slated for release on July 28, with a special presale beginning today.

Now a quartet, lead by lead guitarist and frontman Warren Haynes, joined by drummer Matt Abts, keyboardist Danny Louis and new bassist Jorgen Carlsson, the band is planning a full-scale summer of activity, with nearly 40 dates in the U.S. alone, to be followed by additional touring plans in the fall.

Recorded largely in the Texas Hill Country at Willie Nelson's Pedernales Studio in 2009, the album's origins are apparent from the first track, "Broke Down On The Brazos," named after the nearby river, with a deep Texas stomp for the backbeat and featuring the trademark guitar-work of ZZ Top founder Billy Gibbons. Perhaps less descriptively named, "Steppin' Lightly" is another burner, set off by the soulful vocals and mind-bending guitar work of Haynes, who proves anew why Rolling Stone named him one of the Top 25 guitarists of all time.

"This record feels like we're moving between the future and the past," says Haynes. "At heart, it feels like we're breaking new ground without forgetting our roots."

Other highlights include the lament "Railroad Boy," informed by both Celtic tradition and the Mississippi Delta; the expansive psych-rock of "Monday Mourning Meltdown," and the optimistic "Frozen Fear," with its lush harmony and even a hint of rocksteady skank.

Marked by incredible critical and fan support - they've had over 2 million paid song downloads through their site MuleTracks - Gov't Mule has released nearly a dozen acclaimed and bestselling albums while emerging as a major touring force, routinely headlining festivals, amphitheatres and pavilions. A full slate of summer dates have already been announced, with stops including Bonnaroo and Haynes' own Mountain Jam festival at the end of May, with additional dates planned for September and beyond.

In recent months, Haynes has been spectacularly busy in his other dual roles as guitarist and singer for The Allman Brothers Band, who recently wrapped an epic stand 15 night stand at NYC's Beacon, and The Dead.

By A Thread will be available for pre-sale order starting today, at the band's website,

By A Thread Track List
1. Broke Down On The Brazos 6:19
2. Steppin' Lightly 7:10
3. Railroad Boy 5:03
4. Monday Mourning Meltdown 8:08
5. Gordon James 3:48
6. Any Open Window 4:45
7. Frozen Fear 5:48
8. Forevermore 4:17
9. Inside Outside Woman Blues #3 9:04
10. Scenes From A Troubled Mind 723
11. World Wake Up 5:54

Complete Gov't Mule tour dates available here.

[Published on: 5/21/09]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »