String Cheese Incident To Release New Album In April

Colorado's String Cheese Incident will finally release a studio album for the first time in nine years on April 29. Song In My Head contains 10 new songs written collaboratively by the group over the past nine years and was produced by Jerry Harrison of The Talking Heads.

The album begins with "Colorado Bluebird Sky" featuring vocals from SCI friend Zac Brown and his band. “Stylistically, the album feels like the most modern expression of our music,” drummer Michael Travis said in a statement announcing the new album. “We continue to be the newest version of our expanding stylistic interest. This album feels more genuinely us. It’s everything we’ve learned about making an album.”

SCI headed into the studio in 2012 for a rehearsal session that turned into a recording session as they examined and laid down songs they had written over the past nine years. “We hadn’t recorded for so long that we had all these songs that we liked,” Bill Nershi said. “We were learning them live and playing them out, but none of them had been recorded. We just decided that we needed to get some of these songs down.” Keith Moseley adds, “Once we started recording rehearsals, we realized, ‘Okay, this is gonna be easy. We knew we had some good tunes. And we were on to some good arrangements. The project really started picking up momentum once we actually got started.”

Watch a trailer for Song In My Head:

Here's the tracklist for Song In My Head:

1. Colorado Bluebird Sky ft./Zac Brown Band
2. Betray the Dark
3. Let’s Go Outside
4. Song In My Head
5. Struggling Angel
6. Can’t Wait Another Day
7. So Far From Home
8. Rosie
9. Stay Through
10. Colliding

[Published on: 2/13/14]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!