Cover Alert | Jim James Tackles Bob Marley

A new album of love song covers called Sweetheart 2014 is due on February 4. The CD will be sold exclusively at Starbucks locations across the country, while a digital version will be available from multiple digital music retailers. Jim James, Vampire Weekend, Beck, Phosphorescent, Ben Harper and Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings are just some of the acts who recorded songs from the compilation.

Producers of the LP have shared Jim James's version of "Turn Your Lights Down Low" by Bob Marley and we think the song fits James's silky voice perfectly.

Check out Jim James's take on "Turn Your Lights Down Low":

Here's the tracklist:

1. Turn Your Lights Down Low – Jim James (5:00)
2. Time to Say Goodbye (Con te partirò) – Vampire Weekend (3:14)
3. Love – Beck (3:16)
4. Tomorrow Is a Long Time – Phosphorescent (4:19)
5. Don’t Forget Me – The Head and the Heart (4:08)
6. Happy Or Lonesome – Valerie June (1:53)
7. Always on My Mind – Bahamas (4:16)
8. If You Were Mine – Thao & the Get Down Stay Down (2:47)
9. Fade Into You – Ben Harper (4:30)
10. I’m In The Middle Of A Riddle – Fiona Apple featuring Maude Maggart (2:38)
11. The Chain – Brandi Carlile (4:17)
12. I Hope – Blake Mills (3:08)
13. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours – Sharon Jones & the Dap- Kings (2:36)

Listen to clips of the tracks below

[Published on: 12/11/13]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!