Audio | Pearl Jam's First Studio Session

This morning Rolling Stone came across an important piece of rock history when they posted the first Pearl Jam studio session.

The band, which was named Mookie Blaylock at first and included Eddie Vedder, Stone Gossard and Mike McCready on guitar, Jeff Ament on bass and drummer Dave Krusen, settled into the London Bridge Studio in Seattle way back in 1990 to record a batch of 11 songs. Most of the tunes would appear on their debut album, Ten, one year later. Early hits "Alive," "Even Flow" and "Black" are among the tracks laid down in this historic session.

Let's take a listen:

"Even Flow" – 00:00 
"Once" – 04:55 
"Breath" – 08:04 
"Release" – 13:50 
"Just a Girl" – 18:51 
"Evil Little Goat" – 23:39 
"Alive" – 25:10 
"Alone" – 30:44 
"Oceans" – 34:00 
"Black" – 36:44 
Improv. (Beginnings of "Yellow Ledbetter") – 41:54

[via Rolling Stone]
[Published on: 8/22/13]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!