Hot Club of Cowtown: New Album, Spring U.S. Tour

RENDEZVOUS IN RHYTHM TO BE RELEASED
MAY 28, 2013 ON GOLD STRIKE RECORDS

Hot Club of Cowtown’s new Lloyd Maines-produced release, Rendezvous in Rhythm, out May 28, 2013 on Gold Strike Records, is an exuberant collection of Gypsy songs and American Songbook standards played acoustically and recorded in the hot jazz style of legendary violin and guitar masters Stephane Grappelli and Django Reinhardt. Recorded last July at the Zone Recording Studio in Dripping Springs, Texas, it’s the Hot Club’s first- ever dedicated foray into the Gypsy jazz and French swing of Paris in the ’30s and features the band’s sparkling spins on standards in the style of Reinhardt and Grappelli including “Crazy Rhythm,” “Minor Swing,” “Dark Eyes,” “The Continental,” “I'm in the Mood for Love,” “Douce Ambiance,” and many more.

You’d think a band from Austin, Texas with the word “Cowtown” in its name spends its time off from touring herding cattle at a West Texas ranch or maybe in Nashville writing songs about whiskey and loose women. Not the Hot Club of Cowtown. “We recently took a band vacation to the Gypsy Festival at St. Maries de la Mer in the South of France,” says the band’s fiddler and vocalist, Elana James. Whit Smith, Hot Club’s guitar player and vocalist, is a regular at the prestigious Djangofest Northwest in Whidbey, Island, Washington, and bass player Jake Erwin has the Hungarian folk band Csokolom in regular rotation on his home stereo.

Perhaps it’s no surprise, then, that the Hot Club of Cowtown, whose collection of recorded work now stretches to seven studio albums, is finally releasing Rendezvous in Rhythm, a thrilling display of this Texas trio’s breathtaking virtuosity and, for the first time with such focus, its elegant, more European inspirations. “We had lots of people asking us to make a record of standards,” says Smith, “So there you go, here’s a record full of swing standards. We’re not trying to compete with anyone who’s writing the songs. It’s more of a vehicle for one way we really like to play — starting with familiar ground and then improvising from there.”

To promote the new album, the trio will hit the road for a run of Spring dates in the United States. Check out a full list of shows below, along with the tracklisting for the new album.

TRACKLISTING

  • 1. Dark Eyes (Ochi Chornye)
  • 2. I'm In The Mood For Love
  • 3. Crazy Rhythm
  • 4. Avalon
  • 5. If I Had You
  • 6. The Continental
  • 7. Minor Swing
  • 8. Melancholy Baby
  • 9. I'm Confessin'
  • 10. Sweet Sue, Just You
  • 11. Slow Boat To China
  • 12. Sunshine Of Your Smile
  • 13. Back In Your Own Backyard
  • 14. Douce Ambiance

    TOUR DATES

  • Fri., March 1 FORT WORTH, TX Live Oak Music Hall 9 PM
  • Sat., March 2 BLUE RIDGE, TX Branscombe Hall
  • Wed., March 6 AUSTIN, TX Continental Club
  • Wed., March 13 AUSTIN, TX Continental Club
  • Sat., March 16 GRUENE, TX Gruene Hall 1-5 p.m.
  • Wed., March 20 AUSTIN, TX Continental Club
  • Fri.,, March 22 PROVO, UT BYU Department of Dance
  • Wed., March 27 AUSTIN, TX Continental Club
  • Tues., April 9 VIENNA, VA Jammin’ Java
  • Wed., April 10 WILMINGTON, DE Grand opera house
  • Thurs., 11 NEW YORK, NY Joe’s Pub
  • Fri., 12 MARBLEHEAD, MA (BOSTON) Me and Thee Coffeehouse
  • Sat., April 13 WHITE RIVER JUNCTION, VT Tupelo Music Hall
  • Sun., April 14 TRURO, MA Payomet
  • Fri., April 19 BURBANK, CA (LOS ANGELES) Joe’s Great American
  • Sat. & Sun., April 20 & 21 SANTA CLARITA, CA Cowboy Festival
  • Fri., May 3 GENOA, NV Cowboy Poetry Festival
  • Sat., May 4 RAMONA, CA Ramona Bluegrass and Western Festival
  • Sun., May 5 SAN DIEGO, CA AMSD
  • Fri., May 17 EDWARDSVILLE , IL (ST. LOUIS) Wildey Theater
  • Sat., May 18 KANSAS CITY, MO Knuckleheads
  • Sun., May 19 IOWA CITY, IA Englert Theater
  • Tues., May 21 CHICAGO IL City Winery
  • Wed., May 22 MINNEAPOLIS, MN Dakota Jazz Club
  • Thurs., May 23 WISCONSIN RAPIDS, WI McMillan Memorial Library
  • Sat., May 25 BLACK FOREST, CO MeadowGrass Music Festival

    Hot Club of Cowtown Tour Dates :: Hot Club of Cowtown News

  • http://www.hotclubofcowtown.com

    [Published on: 3/1/13]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!


    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!



     
     
     
     

    Related Goods