Pere Ubu: Lady From Shanghai Out in January


Pere Ubu return with their first new studio album for over three years in January 2013, the thirty-fifth anniversary of the group’s debut (The Modern Dance). Lady From Shanghai will be released on Fire Records (home to Guided by Voices, Mission of Burma, Giant Sand, Bailterspace, Josephine Foster and many others). The album ushers in a new era in the history of Pere Ubu, with David Thomas and band continuing to provoke and shock listeners, further establishing them as one of the most innovative, progressive and important bands of all time.

An accompanying book "Chinese Whispers: The Making of Lady From Shanghai" will be launched around the same time, extensively exploring the ideas and methods behind the recording.

Track Listing:

  • 01. Thanks
  • 02. Free White
  • 03. Feuksley Ma'am, The Hearing
  • 04. Mandy
  • 05. And Then Nothing Happened
  • 06. Musicians Are Scum
  • 07. Another One (Oh Maybellenne)
  • 08. The Road Trip Of Bipasha Ahmed
  • 09. Lampshade Man
  • 10. 414 Seconds
  • 11. The Carptenter Sun

    Pere Ubu Tour Dates :: Pere Ubu News


    [Published on: 11/9/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!